Riobamba

I arrived to Riobamba for one reason only – to see the highest volcano in Ecuador, Chimborazo. However I stayed there much longer than expected for many other reasons. In the beginning I had a problem with finding a nice and cheap hostel. After checking in, I went for a walk around the town to look for some agencies that were offering biking down from the mountain. In one of them I met a really nice guy named Julio who happens to rent rooms in his house for travellers. First I hesitated, because it sounded a bit weird to me, but after finding out a bit more about him and his wife I decided to stay with them. I planned to be there for 2 days only and I ended up staying almost a week! I think I just felt a bit closer to home when i stayed with them!

Leave a Reply

