Volcano Cotopaxi

Cotopaxi is the second highest summit in Ecuador, right after Chimborazo Volcano and one of the highest active volcanoes in the world. it is only around 28 km south of quito and its summit is visible from the city.

I left Quito very early in the morning for a one day excurion to climb to the refugee at 4800 meter and then bike down from the mountain. We arrived to the parking spot at 4300 m. and from there I started my hike up. This time it was a lot easier to do that. First time around, when I hiked up the Chimborazo Volcano I could not catch my breath. After a hot chocolate and a little rest I hiked back down in just a few minutes. Riding down on a bike was a lot of fun, but took only maybe 30 min. Luckily the side of the mountain we were on, was not covered in the clouds so I could take some photos.

Leave a Reply

